The Taco Cake

Standard

Hi Everyone,
I woke up thinking about this story and decided I had to write about it now before I forgot again. Many years ago at the Good ol’ Days in Emory Village, I had a regular customer(there were a lot of them), that would come in and say “I wanted a taco, but could not pass up the craving for a chicken with almond sandwich, so the taco will have to wait.” He literally said this every time he came in. Well, obviously, we did not make tacos, but I started to think….he will come in and have a flowerpot sandwich, why not make him a “taco” cake for dessert. What I mean is a cake that looks like a taco. Then I thought, what about the rest of the customers? So I need to make a giant taco cake. You have to remember, my first Good ol’ Days was the size of a Waffle House so we are talking about 20 or so customers at a time. Problem one, I did not have a giant pan that would make a cake big enough, but thin enough that I could fold it over in half. (and not have it break when I do it. We had not been open very long, and money was definitely an obstacle, so I was looking around my home for something I could use as a giant taco pan. Suddenly, I look up and on the ceiling is a giant flat metal cover over the light fixture. Hmmmmm. I take it down, wash it, (whew, it needed that anyway), wrapped the whole thing in foil,(it did have a hole in the middle) and proceeded to bake a sponge cake in it which I was so excited about when it came out perfect. Nothing like having duel use things in your home. Then I proceeded to make marzipan candies that looked like tomatoes and onions, ground up chunks of chocolate to look like ground beef, white icing for sour cream and used white bark with a little yellow food coloring to look like shredded cheese.
I wish I had a picture when he came in for his weekly fix of flowerpots and we had his taco waiting for him for dessert. Everyone had a lot of fun, got full, there were a couple of people that said that just doesn’t look right, a sweet taco. But we made them close their eyes and they were fine.
Have a great day,
Sally

One response »

  1. Thank you for the loan of the wine glasses for our grand opening event at the International Montessori Training Institute a couple of weeks ago. It was a great event and the tables looked first rate with your beautiful stem ware on them.

Leave a comment